Making a cat tent was the best life decision I’ve made in a long time

 

IMG_3722
My mom’s boyfriend in a tunnel playing with Daryl (above) and Steve Martin (in red tent). Crazy Caturday night WOO…

I am VERY allergic to cats, but that doesn’t stop me from admiring their all encompassing glory. They are fuzzy, adorable, little sociopaths.They will rub up against you for scratches one minute then walk over your cold, dead body the next like they never saw you before in any of their nine lives. They can be left in the house for days at a time with a bowl of food, water, and no supervision and be totally content. When you come home, they aren’t pissed you abandoned them nor excited you returned. I admire those little fuckers and I wish I could embody their spirit.

 

After many glasses of wine, I decided it would be an excellent idea to make cat tents for my mom’s 2 cats. OH MY GOD was it (the best I’ve had in a long time). Not only was I profoundly proud of myself for creating such a masterpiece of craftsmanship (although sober Kate might have built a more structurally sound tent), but it also provided us with about an hour and a half of quality entertainment. I highly recommend it. If you don’t do your cat this service, then you should be ashamed of yourself.

 

What you’ll need:

  • 2 wire hangers
  • 15×15 piece of cardboard
  • Old T-shirt
  • Pliers
  • Wire cutters
  • Heavy duty tape (or not really…I used electrical tape)
  • Safety pins
  • 15 minutes
  • Wine (optional)

How to:

  1. Cut hook off the top of the wire hangers with wire cutters.
  2. Bend hanger so it creates a slight “U” shape.
  3. Measure and cut 15×15 inch cardboard piece.
  4. Poke a small hole in each corner of the cardboard square.
  5. Place ends of wire hangers in diagonal holes and bend the bottom underneath so it is flush with the cardboard.
  6. Tape end of wire to the cardboard underneath on each side.
  7. Repeat with other piece of wire hanger.
  8. Tape the top together where the two wires intersect to create the top of the tent.
  9. Put T-shirt on frame directing neck hole in the front of the tent.
  10. Use safety pins to secure the sleeves and bottom of the shirt underneath the tent.
  11. Take pictures/video as proof. Clearly it didn’t happen if it’s not on social media.
  12. Create blog post about said cat tent so I can see it!

 

If those directions are confusing…figure it out…or click here.

 

P.S. Shout out to Ferris Mewler, the Bloggess’s fury friend who sees demons. Here’s a fortress for you to hunker down in. There’s a demon in our house. Or a bug. Maybe both.

 

Author: Face First

Stumbling through adulthood one misadventure at a time

3 thoughts on “Making a cat tent was the best life decision I’ve made in a long time”

    1. I definitely can’t touch them or itchiness, sneezing, and breathing troubles set in, but I can be around them for a couple hours if I take Zyrtec and some Benedryl. It’s a cruel, cruel world…

      Like

Leave a Reply

